Balancing the Bar

Happiness and the Practice of Law

Welcome

Leave a comment

I have been an attorney for 15 years it seems to me that the number of lawyers who are unhappy far exceeds those that are happy.  The law is a stress filled practice and so many attorneys accept this as a part of  the job.  But, is stress a necessary biproduct of the profession? Or, do attorneys have some predisposition to stress and its related mental and physical health consequences? 

Balancing The Bar is here  to provide information for lawyers and anyone else who must cope with the intensity and stress which results from solving the problems of others.    I am no expert by any means.  However, through my own experience and observing those around me I made the decision to be a happy person first and a lawyer second.  I am still learning and it can be a daily struggle to keep the proper perspective. 

My hope is that others can find a way to enjoy their life and practice law too.  The profession looses a lot a good people because of the mental and physical demands of the practice.   Some the topics I hope to  cover  include mental health issues, the physcial effects of stress, life balance, exercise, meditation, stress management, book reviews and etc. 

I welcome your comments, blog ideas and guest bloggers to a submit entries for publication.  Together we lawyers can learn from each other and your participation is essential.  You can reach me at balancingthebar@ymail.com or leave a comment on one of the entries.  I look forward to hearing what people have to say.

Thanks for visiting.

Tabitha M. Hochscheid

Author: Tabitha M. Hochscheid

Attorney since 1995, interested in Attorney Health and Well Being and related issues for lawyers and the general population. Developer and Committee Chair of the Cincinnati Bar Association Health and Well Being Committee.

Leave a Reply

