Balancing the Bar

Happiness and the Practice of Law

Do our clients reflect our personality traits?

Leave a comment

In the last fifteen years, I have built a practice in the consumer and commercial collection area.  I have had many clients many of whom I would consider friends and some that I have the privilege of still representing.  I enjoy meeting new clients and developing relationships.  Helping them solve their accounts receivable issues is not always easy and at times, I feel like a dart board and the darts just keep coming.  All in all most days it is a pretty decent way to make a living.  My favorite days are the days where a I get talk to clients, spend time with them in court or meet with them in my office.  I have noticed that the client’s I have the best relationships are the ones with whom share similar personality traits (females, demanding and agressive at times).

It also appears that I am not alone in this way of building a practice and in developing client relationships.  As I look around my office, I have noticed others tend to attract clients that reflect their personality traits.  This is not true in all types of law, but those attorneys have long term client relationships tend to settle on a type of client that in some way reflects their personality.  Conservative attorneys  have conservative clients. Agressive attorneys tend to attract clients who are agressive and demanding.   Just take a look around you and see if you notice a trend.

 It is said that relationships are like mirrors.  Perhaps we are able to help our clients because we know what they would want on a conscious and or subconcious level.  Thus, knowing ourselves better will help us serve our clients better.  Then again perhaps the clients that move on don’t stick around because they dislike their reflection in the mirror.

Author: Tabitha M. Hochscheid

Attorney since 1995, interested in Attorney Health and Well Being and related issues for lawyers and the general population. Developer and Committee Chair of the Cincinnati Bar Association Health and Well Being Committee.

Leave a Reply

