Balancing the Bar

Happiness and the Practice of Law

Time flies ….

Leave a comment

So much for more posts on this blog.  I am dedicated to this endeavor more than ever.  In fact, I think about it every day but by the time I get home from the office I am exhausted.  I fall flat of my face on the bed and have no energy for anything.   Despite this, I am still moving the project at the CBA forward.  On March 1, 2012, the Health and Wellness Committee had its first official meeting.  There are 8 articles already planned for the CBA Report and a few more in the works.  The members of the committee are energetic and ready to contribute in any way they can.  It is a rewarding experience to be in a room with people who have the same interest in attorney well being as you do.  It is also very validating to have them echo your thoughts and set goals that are beyond what you originally hoped for.  Some of the issues we have to explore is what exactly do we want this committee to do, set a mission statement and hopefully, set up some sort of peer to peer counseling locally.

My first article (the introduction to the Committee and its work) is due tomorrow.  I have at least one new possible committee person to contact thanks to Ellen Wolf and I am excited about the direction the committee members are interested in taking the CBA.  So many people are excited and so much can happen because of this committee and its members.  Many things are coming together and making sense to me.  On the 27th I participated in a conference call with Joan Englund, an attorney in Cleveland who is one of the Mental Health task force members at the Cleveland Bar Association.  We be compared notes and discussed a state wide approach to many issues particularly as they relate to OLAP and Law students. It was nice to see what they were doing and to address some of the ways we can work together.

Two weeks ago, I spoke with Betsy, my friend Ken’s widow.  I am always humbled by her strength and love for her children.  She is such a strong person and has so much faith.  I asked her to be on the advisory committee and instead, she volunteered to write an article for the CBA.  I was so thrilled to have her contribute.  Some times as lawyers we forget the roles our families play in our lives.  Let’s face it; focusing on your family can really help us stay strong when work seems to be grinding us down.  They live with us and because of what we do they live with the practice of law.  After speaking with her I could help but think of my own life and how glad I am that I have such a supportive spouse.

So, things are progressing and there is a lot of commitment both inside and outside of the practice of law. The next few months will bring an introduction of the committee to members of the Bar Association and articles on relevant topics will appear every month in the CBA Report.  I am still humbled by the fact that that my ideas are actually being adopted.  Most of all, however, I am very grateful for the opportunity to help others and to improve my profession.

Author: Tabitha M. Hochscheid

Attorney since 1995, interested in Attorney Health and Well Being and related issues for lawyers and the general population. Developer and Committee Chair of the Cincinnati Bar Association Health and Well Being Committee.

Leave a Reply

