Balancing the Bar

Happiness and the Practice of Law

Self care means checking in with yourself.

Leave a comment

I found this post on another blog and it really hit home. I spent years ignoring my health and pushing my mental and physical limits. My body has reacted to this and well I have the high blood pressure to show for it among other things. So I am sharing this authors wisdom. I hope it rings true for others as well.

Leaving the Law

Some alert readers—all 11 of you—may have noticed that my posting frequency has been steadily dropping over the past year. It hasn’t exactly escaped my attention, either. I’ve spent a lot of time soul-searching about why: Am I tired of dealing with lawyers? Am I just scared to say what I think? Do I want to do something other than career coaching? What problem am I avoiding by not writing? Etc. (One of the perils of being a life coach is that you ask yourself the same questions you ask your clients, except in much more concentrated doses!)

The only consistent thing I observed was that I was tired. Exhausted, actually, quite often. To the point that going to the grocery store sometimes seemed a huge mountain to climb. And I know that the mind and the body are linked and reflect each other. My mistake, it turns out, was…

View original post 838 more words

Author: Tabitha M. Hochscheid

Attorney since 1995, interested in Attorney Health and Well Being and related issues for lawyers and the general population. Developer and Committee Chair of the Cincinnati Bar Association Health and Well Being Committee.

Leave a Reply

