Balancing the Bar

Happiness and the Practice of Law

In honor of Father’s Day – The Charlie philosophy

Leave a comment

I have been thinking about my dad a lot this last week.   He had total knee replacement on the 12th.   He is out of the hospital and at home now.  He insisted on no rehab center and seems to be up to the challenge of rehabilitation at home.   My father is stubborn and well this is one of the traits I share with my dad.  So, that got me to thinking about the life philosophy of my Dad and how it is the backbone or who I am and how it has supported me in work and in life. 

  1. You can do anything you want if you put your mind to it.  Every time I get down or feel discouraged I can hear my dad say this and I take stock of what I have accomplished.  This helps me refocus.  Other times I just call him on the phone for a pep talk. He is my greatest fan and cheerleader.
  2. Don’t ever let anyone take from you without a fight  (i.e., stick up for yourself).  Now, this is one of those stand up for what is right and don’t waiver things.  My dad is big on being true to your convictions.  This is where stubbornness serves us both well. 
  3. You must take care of yourself – my dad taught me how to be a self sufficient woman.  In fact, to this day, my husband and I often ask – what would Charlie do?  We call him a lot for advice in fix it situations and when all else fails we employ the Charlie Solution (i.e. get out the duct tape).
  4. You can change if you need or want to. (After suffering a debilitating back injury my father learned how to cook, do laundry) He is the king of making lemons into lemonade.
  5. Sometimes when you think you want to give up you just have to give life a little more effort.  My father is not a quitter.  He has been an avid walker and used that to manage his diabetes and stress through exercise. He looks forward to getting back to that as soon as his new knee is operational.

Today is Father’s day and to my Dad I say Happy Father’s Day and thanks for all you do and for providing me with such a determined spirit to guide me through life.

Author: Tabitha M. Hochscheid

Attorney since 1995, interested in Attorney Health and Well Being and related issues for lawyers and the general population. Developer and Committee Chair of the Cincinnati Bar Association Health and Well Being Committee.

Leave a Reply

