Balancing the Bar

Happiness and the Practice of Law

Life got in the way…

Leave a comment

2014 is almost over.  It has been a year packed with a lot of stressful events in my life.  So many stressful things happened I don’t know where to begin.  The big one was my father’s illness and diagnosis of probable dementia over the summer.  He received treatment and after two months in a nursing home he returned home.  My family is  so blessed.

With so much going on you prioritize out of need.  Unfortunately, my blog was back burnered.   Now, it is December, I look at my blog and I wonder where the year went.

Some years are like this.  You get to December and you can’t wait for the year to be over because it has been a marathon roller coaster ride. Fifteen days left in 2014, and I personally will be glad to see January 2015.

Yet, in spite of the stress, there have been many positive things happening in the Cincinnati Legal Community.

In lieu of  blogging, I have written several of articles in 2014 for the CBA Report.  The Health and Well Being Committee has moved forward with its mission and now the Cincinnati Bar Foundation has a Mental Health Initiative. The Committee had its first CLE event 10 days ago with guest speaker Dan Lukasik. I have given presentations at the Cincinnati Lawyers Club, Northern Kentucky Bar Association and recently at the Salmon P. Chase Inns of Court. All of these things are good things.  None of these things found their way to this blog in spite of  my best intentions.  Often times, they were overshadowed by next thing on my to do list.

I clearly need to spend more time taking in the good, life’s sweet and beautiful moments.  Its  time to blog more and write about the wonderful work my colleagues and I have been doing at the CBA.  Also, to write about the practice of law, the struggles of self employment, the challenges of managing clients and employees.   And more importantly, I want to write about the process of getting fit with the people at Fitworks Anderson which is in preparation for the May Balanced Living Lecture series.  Some big changes have happened to me at the gym by physically and mentally.

Stay tuned for a New Year.

Author: Tabitha M. Hochscheid

Attorney since 1995, interested in Attorney Health and Well Being and related issues for lawyers and the general population. Developer and Committee Chair of the Cincinnati Bar Association Health and Well Being Committee.

Leave a Reply

